The Physics 500 Project has been made possible by funding from the DST, awarded to the SAIP as part of the South African Government's response to the Report on the State of Physics in South Africa, and the Shaping the Future of Physics in South Africa reports.

Additionally, the following packages and components are either used directly, used as a basis, or inspired the development of the website classes:

The project was written and managed by Dr. Kevin Meyer, reporting to the project committee. The project committee members were Prof. Nithaya Chetty (University of KwaZulu Natal), Dr. E.G. Rohwer (Stellenbosch University) and convened by Dr Igle Gledhill (CSIR).

Kevin Meyer, July 2008